top of page

Final Major Project _ Characters 1 & 2

It is the third year and I cannot believe how far I have come from first year and all I have learnt whilst at DMU. At the beginning of this project I had no idea what I was going to create. I knew that from the style matrix projects I made, the pirate King, new york rooftop and my Character creature concepts, that I wanted to stick with making a 3D characters.

Now that I knew I wanted to create 3 characters, the next part was thinking what could I create to showcase my work as a character artist. so I wanted to set myself realistic goals and make at least one female character, and have all the characters fit in one universe.

my initial ideas were of a large mech robot / superhero with an human pilot, a cyborg lady plugged into a large mainframe computer, and a stylized superhero. After having a meeting with m course leader Mike, he told me that these ideas can be hard to bring to fruition as the ideas are too generic and it will be hard to create a unique design. I understand that, but I do wonder how anyone can design anything original as I think everything has been done before by some extent. Never the less I decided to scrap those ideas.

After 3 weeks I had not come up with anything original enough. So I thought that I may aswell start a character as I wasting time just thinking about it.

I have always like science fiction and the sci-fi genre in general e.g Bladerunner and I had always wanted to design something that would come from a universe like that. So I went about deigning a character that could allow me market a game character with a USP that can be easily adapted into a game. I then came up with the idea of a policeman running through a city similar to that of a Bladerunner and went from there. After various iterations of what kind of policeman would I design, I first came up with a cool futuristic design of a sheriff but I felt I could come up with something better. I came up with a Japanese policeman with augmented boots to help him traverse through the city on foot to apprehend criminals. This also gave my ideas about what the others characters might be to compliment the policeman. That would of course be who he is trying to catch; the criminal.

Character 1 - Futuristic Policeman:

Moodboard:

Concepts:

Highpoly:

Lowpoly:

Textured:

Character 2

After talking with my friend about what he is doing for his FMP he told me that he is making an high rise apartment with its own secret armoury room. We thought then that we could use each other projects to enhance the others. We basically came to the conclusion that he can use my character in his level and I can use his level to set the stage for my character.

I had told him about my Japanese policeman idea and then talked about what the other character could be. Then we came up with a rich guy who is on a mission to track down Targets that he has dotted around a large board in his appartment's hidden room. Is he a miss understood vigilante or psychopath? The character is going to be influenced by Japan aswell, in terms of style. He needs armour-like padding and has cybernetic enhancements as the character is his own engineer and tinkerer.

Moodboard:

Concepts:

3D Work:

Highpoly:

Lowpoly:

Textured:


 Recent  
 Posts:  
bottom of page